ACTE Excellence Awards


The ACTE Excellence Awards recognize those individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to CTE, programs that exemplify the highest standards and organizations that have conducted activities to promote and expand CTE programs. Award winners serve as inspirational leaders to ACTE: they embody the core values of serving their students and being committed to CTE. All ACTE Excellence Awards are presented at the ACTE Awards Banquet in conjunction with ACTE’s CareerTech VISION. 

2017 ACTE Awards Banquet  
December 6, 2017 7:00-9:00 p.m.
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Nashville, TN
The deadline has passed to purchase tickets.
Reserve a Table (10 seats)

Learn more about the event below.


Grammy nominated hit songwriter, Tim James, will provide entertainment for the evening. His hits include: "My List" sung by Toby Keith, "Give It All We Got Tonight" by George Strait, "Love Like Crazy" by Lee Brice, "Either Way" by Chris Stapleton and many others. Tim will provide a set of hit songs and share funny and inspirational stories behind them. Other music will be provided by Grammy Award winning songwriter, artist and producer Ray Stephenson and the talented Natalie Murphy. They have graced the stage with and had songs recorded by Carrie Underwood, Kenny Chesney, Blake Shelton, Miranda Lambert, Guy Clarke, Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard and many more.

At the 2017 Awards Banquet, ACTE will recognize the national finalists and winners of the ACTE Excellence Awards:

ACTE Teacher of the Year, sponsored by Express Employment Professionals ACTE New Teacher of the Year
ACTE Career Guidance Award, sponsored by the U.S. Army ACTE Lifetime Achievement Award
ACTE Administrator of the Year ACTE Business Leader of the Year
ACTE Postsecondary Teacher of the Year ACTE Business of the Year
ACTE Carl Perkins Community Service Award ACTE Champion of the Year

In addition, the following awards will be presented at the event:

2017 CareerSafe Safety Educator of the Year, sponsored by CareerSafe
2017 ACTE Student Trophy Design Contest Winner, sponsored by Stratasys

If your business is interested in sponsoring the 2017 ACTE Awards Banquet please contact Jim Waterhouse


Awards Banquet Essentials

About the Awards Banquet: This dinner and awards presentation recognizes the best CTE educators in the country. The national winners and finalists of the Member Awards will be recognized, as well as the national Image Award winners.

When and Where:  Wednesday, December 6,2017, from 7:00-9:00 p.m. at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center during ACTE's CareerTech VISION 2017.

Cost: Admission is $75 per person. Register for the Banquet as part of your VISION registration or by calling 800-826-9972. National award winners and finalists do not pay the Banquet admission. Please note, award winners' guests will need to pay the $75 admission fee. The deadline to purchase tickets is November 17. Tickets will not be sold on site.

Attire: Business/dress attire. Wear something in which you would be comfortable being photographed.

Menu: Attendees can view the menu here.

If I'm an award winner, when should I be there? Award winners and presenters will be sent specific notifications/updates mid-September on the award winners' schedule.

2018 Member Award Finalists

The ACTE Member Awards recognize ACTE members for excellence and dedication within the field of CTE. National finalists represent the best in CTE and were selected as award recipients in their states and Regions.

Teacher of the Year, sponsored by Express Employment Professionals

Linda Romano    
Region I    
Newburgh, NY
J. Wes York
Region II
Princeton, KY
Jill Johnson    
Region III    
St. Paul, MN
Jana McWhorter    
Region IV    
Bearden, AR
Sharon Metzger    
Region V    
Chandler, AZ

New Teacher of the Year

Keely DiTizio    
Region I    
Woodstown, NJ
Amanda McClure
Region II
McDonough, GA
Elizabeth Chambers-Priller
Region III    
Freeport, IL
Mary Helen Lett   
Region IV    
Brooklyn, MS
Sara Quintana    
Region V
Las Vegas, Nevada


Administrator of the Year

Tim L. Buschur    
Region I    
Celina, OH
Lee O'Neal
Region II
Southport, NC
Michael Lehn    
Region III    
St. Cloud, MN
Donna McKethan  
Region IV    
Waco, TX
Jillian Johnson-Sharp  
Region V    
Santa Ana, CA

Postsecondary Teacher of the Year

Tracy A Campbell  Region I    
Columbus, OH
Kathy Croxall
Region II
Bowling Green, KY
Sally E. Arnett-Hartwick    
Region III    
Normal, IL
Dustin Hicks    
Region IV    
Stillwater, OK
Sheree Moser  
Region V    
Lincoln, NE

Career Guidance Award, sponsored by the US Army

Sharon Barrow
Region II
Tyrone, GA
Carrie Hanson    
Region III    
Alexandria, MN
Gay Johnson    
Region IV    
Waxahachie, TX
Jan Fellow    
Region V    
Surprise, AZ

Carl Perkins Community Service Award

Stephanie Jolliff    
Region I    
Mt. Victory, OH
Christy Cheek
Region II
Asheville, NC
Tiffany Kauffman  
Region III    
Seymour, MO
Richard Stewart    
Region IV    
Tulsa, OK
Kelly Hoelting    
Region V    
Eskridge, KS

Lifetime Achievement Award

Cathy Bither    
Region I    
Houlton, ME
Kimberly Lee Mitchell
Region II
Talladega, AL
Jeanette A. Karjala  
Region III  
Winona, MN
Carol Colwell    
Region IV    
Roxanne L. Trees   Region V    
Seattle, WA

2018 Image Award Winners

William J. Nelson 
2018 ACTE Business Leader of the Year
St.Paul, MN

Kenneth Wallace
2018 ACTE Champion
of the Year
Park Ridge, IL
John Deere
2018 ACTE Business of the Year

Thank you sponsors!

The Excellence Awards program is sponsored by:


  • Image 1
  • Image 1
  • Image 1
  • Image 1
  • Image 1
  • Image 1


  • Image 1
  • Image 1
  • Image 1
  • Image 1
  • Image 1
  • Image 1


More Resources:

Please be aware that registration for ACTE events is only available via ACTE’s website and

A Special Thanks to Our Sponsors





Image 2

Image 2

© 2019

Back to Top